July 15, 2024

Museveni Fires All Parliamentary Committee Chairpersons

Spread the love by sharing

The NRM chairperson, President Museveni, has ordered the government chief whip to advertise all sectoral committee positions after dropping all current committee leaders.

The CEC meeting that was chaired by the Party’s National Chairman, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, on June 18, 2024, resolved to remove all the chairpersons and deputy chairpersons of the committees of Parliament and deferred the appointment of new leaders for two weeks.

The meeting chaired by the party’s National Chairman, President Yoweri Museveni, at State House Entebbe on Tuesday was the third attempt to constitute the leadership of the 15 sectoral committees for the 4th Session of Parliament that began on June 7, 2024.

Also Read: The Meeting between President Museveni and Traders postponed 

Each yearly session of Parliament begins with the designation of new committee leaders and members by the Government Chief Whip.

Tuesday’s CEC resolution, published by the NRM Director of Communication, Emmanuel Dombo, resulted in the postponement of the process.

“The Central Executive Committee of the NRM met on June 11 and 14, 2024, and today, June 18, 2024, to consider and approve the designation of NRM Members as Chairman, Deputy Chairpersons, and Members of the respective Sessional (sectoral) Parliamentary Committees,” said part of the resolution.

“CEC resolved to defer the designation for the vacant leadership positions of the Sessional Committees for two weeks.”

In conclusion, the same meeting instructed the Government Chief Whip, Denis Hamson Obua, to call for fresh applicants for the now vacant positions.

Check also;

written by @enock katamba

Mr. katamba Enock: Professional designer with experience in web designing who started this activity in 2019 at Kyambogo University after graduation . Contact me on : (+256-758287080)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *